Arching the supports

arch

Now we move on to aesthetics.  That is really what separates “nice” furniture from wooden things cobbled together that never look finished.

I started by playing with different curves to get something that I thought looked about right.

arch1

Too skinny.

arch2

Too drastic. (Frye boots anyone?)

arch3

Ahhh, just right.  The prototype looked good so I loosely copied it to one of my supports.  This took a couple of tries.  I found freehand to be easiest for this.  I then used doulbe sided tape to stack both supports together and I sawed them with my bandsaw (I’m not totally against power tools).

arch4

Here the curve has been sawed into both supports and I have fixed them in my vise.  Next I used a rasp and file to get the curves closer to what I wanted.  Do this with the boards together so they will match each other.  I used the line as a guide, not a rule.  Once I was happy with the shape, I got out my spokeshave with a curved bottom.  It works much better than a flat shave for concave curves like this.

arch6

Always fun to make shavings.  The surface left behind by this spokeshave was nice enough to not require sanding.  That is really noteworthy because this is cutting into end grain.  Light passes – sharp blade.  Here is the result.

arch5

 

 

The board on the left has been shaved, the one on the right was rasped and filed.  Sandpaper is fine when you need it, but since I have a spokeshave I didn’t need it.

Bob Jones

Leave a Reply

