Recap of 2 fun hand plane events

grinder_class

I led my 2nd Saturday demo at the woodwork shop.  As before, I was pleasantly surprised by how many people showed up for a Saturday morning, especially considering the weather was unseasonably nice.  Thanks for coming out!  Saturday was like the last demo, except this time I was smart(er) and brought some cypress to plane, rather than the cherry I brought before.  It works a bit easier in front of an audience.  I don’t know how many people were there, but it was more than 25 and there was a nice mix of attendees (experienced and inexperienced).

The Monday night class was very different than last time.  In the last class I did not have a grinder to show grinding technique, so we made do with hand gestures that were completely insufficient.  I wanted to improve this part of the class, so I bought this –

hand-grinder

A recently acquired monstrous antique hand crank grinder with a unique tool rest

I have no intention of giving up my 8in Dayton grinder, but this was too good to pass up.  It takes a 8in wheel and is very portable.  As an added plus it is safe enough to let a novice experiment with grinding without any fear of injury.  To simplify things in the class I asked for a volunteer to turn the crank (thanks Mr. Rodger) while I demonstrated grinding technique.  Then I turned the crank while each student tried their “hand” -pun!  I gave tips and everyone picked it up right away.  I think this could be the best way to practice grinding.  This made the class 100% better.  Before the class was over everyone had a chance to plane cypress with my super-tuned 3, 5, and 7 for at least a few minutes.  At the end of the night I gave away a ShopFox No 4 that I tuned beforehand.  Mr. Skip seemed very proud to be the recipient!  He left with a big grin on his face holding the plane with both hands.  I hope it works well for you!

Once again, I gave a Saturday morning demo and taught a Monday night class at the woodwork shop and forgot to take any pictures.  Thankfully someone else was smarter than me (thanks Brian) and took the shot at the top of the post of me demonstrating grinding with 2 hands.

Oh, and someone brought in a Stanley rabbet plane for inspection.  In hindsight, I remember something about your plane that is causing you problems (too late and too busy that night).  If you read this post, email me and I’ll fill you in.  I hope we get to do this again!

Bob Jones

One thought on “Recap of 2 fun hand plane events

Leave a Reply

