Finished in time for class

ready_for_class

2 tool chests loaded in my Wrangler. 

Whew!  I finished my Dutch tool chest just in time for my Hand Plane II class tomorrow night. I’m behind on the blog posts of the building process, but I will catch-up soon.  Suffice for now to know that I am really liking the chest as a practical addition to my shop.

In my last post I hinted about the giveaway tool of the night.  My final hint – there are two tool chests loaded in my Wrangler right now.  If at least 6 people show up for class only one of them should be coming home with me.  No, I’m not giving away the new one.

About the class – if you are on the fence about coming, here is the schedule of what I plan to cover tomorrow.

joinery_planes

Hand Plane II Class (full 3 hour class)

Joinery planes – uses and sharpening (6:00 – 6:30)

Joinery Planes demonstrated (6:30 – 6:45)

  • Router Plane
  • Shoulder Plane

Board Preparation  (7:00 – 7:15)

  • Flatten 2 boards with bench planes
  • Book match joint with jointer

More joinery planes demonstrated  (7:15 – 8:00)

  • Rabbet planes
    • Shoulder
    • Rabbeting block
    • Moving fillister
  • Plow Plane

Student practice with any plane (8:00 – 9:00)

During practice

– Student practice grinding blades

– Student plane Inspection

– Tool giveaway!!!

I hope to see a lot people tomorrow!

Bob Jones

Leave a Reply

