Hand Plane Class this Monday (Jan 23, 2014) in Memphis, TN

CB-6-long_grain

I’m glad to say that the woodwork shop invited me back for another Monday evening hand plane class.  We will cover sharpening (grinding and honing), tuning, and using bench planes.  The last class was a big success and we had a lot of fun, and I’m hoping this one will be even better.

grinder_class   hand-grinder

I think the most useful part of the class is hands on practice grinding plane blades.  If you can not grind you will never be able to sharpen. I will bring my hand crank grinder and everyone will get a turn.  Its safe, its fun, and I will need an assistant.  We will cover and demonstrate sharpening from start to finish.  By the way, this sharpening method works for chisels, too.

Why pay $35 for a class?  Four hours of hands on instruction, hands on practice, personal plane inspections, and if we get at least 6 new participants I will give away a free, functional bench plane.  It needs some work, but you will know how to tune it up yourself.  As an added bonus, attendees only pay for the class once.  Anyone can come back free of charge as many times as I teach it.  I hope we will get some return students so you can impress the new ones with your hand plane skills!

If you would like to get the most from the class, I suggest you check out the pre-reading.  And if you do come, please let me know what you think about the blog.

Hope to see you at the woodwork shop!

Bob Jones

4 thoughts on “Hand Plane Class this Monday (Jan 23, 2014) in Memphis, TN

      1. Fred Benjamin

        Very good class with lots of good information and hands on practice. I’m sure it will take me some time to perfect the skills learned in this class. However, I have graduated to “above average” on cranking the hand grinded. Thanks Bob and Woodwork Shop. Fred

Leave a Reply

