Bench Plane Class Tomorrow Night (Aug 25, 2014 in Memphis, TN)

teacher

I know this is last minute notice, but if anyone in the Memphis area has 3 hours free tomorrow night, you should come to The Woodwork Shop, in Bartlett, TN.  Get the details on previous classes here.

This is the “intro” class where we talk all about bench planes.  We talk – it’s not a lecture.  I’ll go over what to look for in vintage and new tools, how to grind the blades, and how to hone them.  We will then cover how to use these tools to take lumber from “rough to ready”.

grinder_class

Everyone will have the chance to learn free hand grinding on a meat powered grinder.  It is safe and fun.  From student feedback, this is the most helpful part of the class.

As always, if we have 6 new students or more, I will give away a Stanley bench plane.  It’s a Number 4, Type 11, ready to be tuned.  Don’t miss it!  If you read this and then come to my class, let me know.  I have a small gift for the first person who does.  Oh, and I will bring some chisels and drawknives for sale, too.  The DTC is going to be pretty full.  I hope to see you there.

Bob Jones

2 thoughts on “Bench Plane Class Tomorrow Night (Aug 25, 2014 in Memphis, TN)

  1. Brian Hey

    I just have to come by. I’ve got those planes I emailed you about to pretty good shape. Would love your input on finishing them up and fine tuning. Could use them in demonstrations if you like.

    – Brian Hey

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

