Crossing the line (for a worthy cause)

child

As a child, I always looked forward to the St. Jude Bike-a-thon. It was a perfect combination of playing outside, free snacks, and the chance to win a prize.  The Bike-a-thon day was a big deal to my brother and me.  One year he fell off the top bunk bed and, when he finally stopped crying, he could only walk doubled over.  My mom said that we would have to miss the Bike-a-thon and he immediately stood straight up and ran out the door.  He may have been faking a little.

For anyone living under a rock, St. Jude is a hospital fighting cancer in children (and AIDS and other hopeless diseases).  They never turn kids away because of money, so they do a lot of fundraising.  The Bike-a-thon was a fundraiser and I remember being pretty good at collecting the funds.  Now I realize that it was easy because the cause was noble and I was a cute little kid.  I would take my pledge sheet around and fill it up with donations fast.  Times have changed as I have aged.  Now if a 36-year old man knocks on the door, no one answers.

So I’m going to cross a line on this blog and ask you, the readers (even you international types), to do something.  Consider donating to St. Jude.  I’m running in a half marathon in early December and I am having no luck in fundraising.  I guess I don’t have the same appeal as I had at age seven.  What gives?

running

Hopefully I’ll be able to cross the finish line after 13 miles of running.  I’ve never run that far before, so it’s not guaranteed.  Here’s the professionally crafted wording, guaranteed to improve your gifting desires.

I am participating in the St. Jude Memphis Marathon Weekend to support the kids of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. As a St. Jude Hero, I have a personal goal to raise $150 for the kids of St. Jude.

Will you help me support St. Jude by donating today?

How your donation helps:

  • Thanks to donors like you, no family ever receives a bill from St. Jude for anything, including treatment, travel, housing and food.
  • St. Jude is working to drive the overall survival rate for childhood cancer to 90%, by 2020. They won’t stop until no child dies from cancer.
  • Treatments invented at St. Jude have helped push the overall childhood cancer survival rate from 20 percent to 80 percent since it opened 50 years ago.

Please visit my St. Jude Heroes fundraising page to make a donation.

Thank you for your support!

Bob Jones

http://fundraising.stjude.org/site/TR/Heroes/Heroes?px=2673290&pg=personal&fr_id=20064

3 thoughts on “Crossing the line (for a worthy cause)

  1. stumpnavB@newso01

    Since Bob won’t brag on himself, I will brag on him. He completed a half marathon…13.1 miles…in 1 hour, 55 minutes and some odd seconds. That is quite impressive. I don’t think I could drive my car 13.1 miles in 1:55!! Good-on-ya Bob.

    What Bob should really brag on himself about is the reason he did it. He was raising money for kids at St. Jude’s. What a noble cause. If Bob can sweat for almost two hours to raise funds, the rest of us should be able to make a few mouse clicks and donate a few bucks to St Jude’s in Bob’s name.

    So while you’re doing that last minute online Christmas shopping, why not make a $5 donation to St Judes?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

