It’s not Handworks

Manney_horse_1

But there is a free event that is hand tool related in Memphis, TN this Saturday (May 16, 2015) at 10:30. I will be giving a demo called “making a spatula from firewood” at the woodwork shop.  I know that spoon carving is all the rage, but spatulas are fast and easy.  There is no bowl so I carve the whole thing with a draw knife.

The Saturday demo’s are a great format and are always fun.  I’ve done a few on hand planes and I’m always surprised by how many people show up.  Must be because it’s free.

Anyway, I asked Mrs Rita if I could do something different this time and she encouraged this.  If the demo generates enough interest she may offer it as a Monday night class.  How would you like to leave a Monday night class with something you made that night?

So, if you can’t go to Handworks this weekend, come to the wood work shop and commiserate with some like minded folks.

Bob Jones

2 thoughts on “It’s not Handworks

  1. Jim Mitchell

    Any chance you might film it for those of us that can’t make it? YouTube needs more videos.

    Reply
    1. Bob Jones Post author

      Funny. The Woodworkshop was filming these and uploading them, but they stopped. I think they found out how much work it is to do high quality productions. I highly recommend Curtis Buchanan’s youtube channel for all things draw knife related. His videos are top notch. I’ll write a review of them soon. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

